Americana Unveils Honors & Awards Performers, Presenters, All Star Band |

Join Our List

Americana Unveils Honors & Awards Performers, Presenters, All Star Band

Americana Unveils Honors & Awards Performers, Presenters, All Star Band

// 9.6.16

The Americana Music Association Announces its 15th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers, Presenters and Members of This Year’s All Star Band   

The show The New York Times Says Reflects A "spirit of eclecticism" 

Will Stream Live on NPR and Tape for Broadcast by PBS

Additional Live Audio Broadcasts confirmed on SiriusXM's Outlaw Country, WRLT, WSM and WMOT   

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (September 6, 2016) — A vibrant mix of musical icons and electrifying newcomers make up the initial list of performers and presenters for the 15th annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Show, scheduled for 6:30 PM/CT Wednesday, September 21 at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium.   

Longtime fan-favorites such as Bob Weir, Shawn Colvin, Alison Krauss, Bonnie Raitt, Emmylou Harris and George Strait line up alongside present-day buzz generators such as Jason Isbell, Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats and The Lumineers as confirmed performers for the Honors & Awards show. The event also serves as the kickoff for the 17th annual Americana Music Festival and Conference, held at venues throughout Nashville. (See below for an alphabetized list of confirmed performers.)   

Confirmed presenters for the Honors & Awards Show include Jack Ingram, Timothy B. Schmit, Taylor Goldsmith, Wynonna Judd, the Indigo Girls’ Amy Ray and Emily Saliers, Bruce Hornsby and Joe Henry, with more presenters to be announced soon.                

A live video stream of the 2016 Honors & Awards show will be broadcast via and the state-of-the-art NPR Music app for smartphones, tablets and set-top boxes. The video stream comes via a partnership with NPR. Television series Austin City Limits will capture performance highlights from the show for a special broadcast to air November 19th on PBS.   

“The artists who attend make this event special, but it couldn’t be done without the behind the scenes work from our partners and the enormous support from our Mayor Megan Barry and the City of Nashville,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association adding, “it’s an honor to co-produce this event with Michelle Aquilato, Martin Fischer (High Five Entertainment) and Terry Lickona (Austin City Limits).”   

In addition to the annual “of the year” nominees on the program, the 2016 Honors & Awards Show will include this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees: Bob Weir, Jim Lauderdale, William Bell, Billy Bragg, and Shawn Colvin, and will pay tribute posthumously to the great Woody Guthrie.   

For the 14th consecutive year, Jim Lauderdale will host what Emmylou Harris calls “the shining star of Nashville and music everywhere” while multi-faceted producer/songwriter/performer Buddy Miller will assemble an all-star band to contribute to the night’s amazing music, this year featuring Dave Cobb, Stuart Duncan, Fred Eltringham, Steve Fishell, Matt Rollings, Chris Wood and The McCrary Sisters.   

A live audio simulcast of the Honors & Awards show will also be available via SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, and on Nashville area terrestrial radio stations: WRLT (100.1 FM), WSM (650 AM) and WMOT (89.5 FM).     

Confirmed performers for the 2016 Americana Music Association Honors & Awards, in alphabetical order:   

William Bell

Billy Bragg 

Shawn Colvin 

Rodney Crowell 

Steve Earle 

Emmylou Harris 

Joe Henry 

Jason Isbell 

Alison Krauss 

Jim Lauderdale 

The Lumineers 

Milk Carton Kids 

Buddy Miller 

Parker Millsap 

John Moreland 

Margo Price 

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats 

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band 

Bonnie Raitt 

George Strait 

Bob Weir 

Lucinda Williams