Americana Announces Honors & Awards Hosts, Performers, and All-Star House Band for Sept. 12 |

Join Our List

Americana Announces Honors & Awards Hosts, Performers, and All-Star House Band for Sept. 12

Americana Announces Honors & Awards Hosts, Performers, and All-Star House Band for Sept. 12

// 9.6.18

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Sept. 6, 2018) — The Americana Music Association® announced today that The Milk Carton Kids will be on hand to host and Buddy Miller will return as musical director for the 17th annual Americana Honors & Awards ceremony. This year’s program will showcase a vibrant mix of musical icons and electrifying newcomers that will make up the list of performers and presenters for the critically acclaimed program scheduled for 6:30 PM/CDT next Wednesday, September 12 at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium.

Legends and longtime fan-favorites line up alongside present-day buzz generators including k.d. langBuddy GuyIrma ThomasRosanne CashJohn PrineRobert Earl KeenBrandi CarlileJason Isbell and the 400 UnitI’m With HerNathaniel Rateliff & the Night SweatsMargo PriceLukas Nelson & Promise of the RealMary GauthierAnderson EastLilly HiattTyler Childers and Courtney Marie Andrews as confirmed performers for the Honors & Awards show. The ceremony is the capstone event for the 19th annual AMERICANAFEST®, held at various venues throughout Nashville during the week of September 11-16.

(See below for an alphabetized list of confirmed performers.) 

For the first time, Americana award-winning and GRAMMY®-nominated duo The Milk Carton Kids, Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan, will host the critically acclaimed program, while Americana’s most-awarded artist, songwriter, musician and producer Buddy Miller takes the reins of musical direction for the Americana All-Star Band featuring Don WasJerry PentecostJoe PisapiaIan FitchukLillie MaeJoshua GrangeJim Hoke and the incredible McCrary Sisters.

A live video stream of the 2018 Honors & Awards show will be webcast via Additionally, CMT is set to broadcast a special featuring performance highlights on Wednesday, November 28 at 8:00 PM CST; followed by a special broadcast of the television series Austin City Limits on PBS in February 2019.

“Each year this show is so special, driven by the passion of music-loving artists and fans, it is truly a humbling event,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association®, adding, “it’s an honor to produce this event with the best team in the biz, Michelle Aquilato, Martin Fischer and Edie Hoback and thrilled to expand our collaboration team to include Terry Lickona (Austin City Limits), Margaret Comeaux and Ellie Chandler from CMT.”

“We’ve been supported by and supporters of Americana since our inception," said Pattengale and Ryan. "And the thought of hosting this event with so many of our friends and idols performing and receiving honors thrills us to no end. We’ve been working hard on the program and are excited to help present a memorable night. We hope, additionally, that we don’t blow it."

In addition to the annual “Of the Year” awards presented during the program, the 2018 Honors & Awards Show will include this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees: lang, Guy, Thomas, Cash and Olivia Records pioneers Judy Dlugacz and Cris Williamson.

A live audio simulcast of the Honors & Awards show will also be available via SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, and on Nashville area terrestrial radio stations: WRLT (100.1 FM), WSM (650 AM) and WMOT (89.5 FM).


Confirmed performers for the 2018 Americana Honors & Awards, in alphabetical order:

Courtney Marie Andrews
Brandi Carlile
Rosanne Cash
Tyler Childers
Anderson East
Mary Gauthier
Buddy Guy
Lilly Hiatt
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
Robert Earl Keen
k.d. lang
Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Margo Price
John Prine
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Irma Thomas


For almost two decades, the prestigious ceremony has celebrated pioneering mainstays and game-changing newcomers, while featuring unforgettable moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash's last live performance together, as well as offering show-stopping appearances by Van Morrison, Bob Weir, George Strait, Don Henley, Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, Civil Wars, Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Patty Griffin, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more.

The awards show is the association's hallmark event, taking place during the week of AMERICANAFEST®: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, September 11-16 in Nashville, TN.

A limited number of tickets for the Americana Honors & Awards are currently on sale to the general public until Friday at 5:00 PM CDT here.

For more information on the association or AMERICANAFEST®, please visit



The 19th annual AMERICANAFEST®: The Americana Music Festival & Conference will take place September 11-16, 2018. The event brings together fans and music industry professionals alike, offering six days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by day and raw, battery recharging showcases each night. The Americana Honors & Awards Show is the featured performance of the festivities, taking place at the historic Ryman Auditorium. For information on how to purchase a conference registration, please visit

About the Americana Music Association®:
The Americana Music Association® is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The Association produces events throughout the year; including AMERICANAFEST®: The Americana Music Festival & Conference and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. The Americana Music Association® receives enormous support from the Tennessee Department of Tourism, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp, Lagunitas Brewing Company, RAM, Mountain Valley Water, ASCAP, BMI, SESAC.


For more information, please contact:
Bryan Ros | Americana Music Association® | 615.386.6936 |
Jackie Marushka | Marushka Media | 615.417.6500 |